Seatalk to nmea183 depth conversion?

Discussion and support for the Nmea4Wifi multiplexer - a 4-input Nmea 0183 wifi multiplexer.
Marchi

Seatalk to nmea183 depth conversion?

Post by Marchi » Sun Apr 14, 2019 3:24 pm

Hi,
I completed instalation of nmea4wifi connected to Seatalk ST60 tridata+wind+autopilot instruments. After few atempts of TCP/UDP setup etc. I manage to get some input traffic on nmea debug window on OpenCpn and some data on dashbords. :)
I think the depth data is wrong because it shows 1766m in a 2m depth. ST60 showing 2m.
Also I've got only AWS and AWA data not TWS and TWA.
Where all data from Seatalk can be found/activated/filtered... What Seatalk to nmea compiler is capturing.

I'm new in nmea world, so sorry for beginers questions.

Congrats for great product!
Last edited by Marchi on Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Luis Sa
Site Admin

Re: Seatalk to nmea183

Post by Luis Sa » Sun Apr 14, 2019 6:57 pm

Hello Marchi,

Thank you for your message. I admit that it is not trivial to master the capabilities of the multiplexer. Regarding SeaTalk1 I note that it only translates SeaTalk1 >>> Nmea183 and not Nmea183 >>> SeaTalk1. I wrote the conversion software based on the public available description of the SeaTalk1 datagram. The software that the mutlplexer uses is available here:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=80

I did not get feedback of wrong depth conversion but Iwill try to read my software again to see how 2m transforms into 1766.

I understand that you that only get apparent wind data. I am not an expert but I think that wind sensors only get apparent wind speed and angle and the instruments that receive that data will calculate the true data using heading data that they receive from other sensors or gps.

Regards, Luis

Luis Sa
Site Admin

Post by Luis Sa » Sun Apr 14, 2019 7:09 pm

Hello again Marchi,