TCP Ports

Discussion and support for the Nmea4Wifi multiplexer - a 4-input Nmea 0183 wifi multiplexer.
mikeweston

TCP Ports

Post by mikeweston » Wed Oct 21, 2020 5:55 pm

Still bench-testing my new NMEA4WiFi unit. I am new to much of TCP and UDP setup. Can anyone offer direction on establishing a TCP or UDP bridge to a virtual serial port? I use SeaClear on Win 10 for navigation and it is looking for one or more COM ports to accept NMEA 0183 from.

I have tried TCP-Serial from CommFront to create a bridge from TCP or UDP to a serial COM port with no success. SeaClear reports "could not open communication port x".

Luis Sa
Site Admin

Re: TCP Ports

Post by Luis Sa » Fri Oct 23, 2020 2:55 am

Hello,

I do not know SeaClear nor CommFront in order to give you a tip. If you can be more specific I will try to help.

REgards, Luis

mikeweston

Post by mikeweston » Fri Oct 23, 2020 3:28 am

Luis,

I don't think this is unique to SeaClear. I believe OpenCPN on Windows would require the same sort of setup. These programs can only accept data from a serial COM port; they cannot directly access a TCP or UDP feed. Something must be in place to tie the TCP/UDP broadcast by the NMEA4Wifi to a virtual COM port. The programs open the access the COM port and read the NMEA sentences from there.

This is how I *THINK* it would work. I am not very fluent in network protocols.

Mike

mikeweston

Post by mikeweston » Fri Oct 23, 2020 3:56 am

Correction. Looking at the most recent OpenCPN documentation, it appears to allow direct setup of TCP or UDP over Wifi. However, I do not use OpenCPN. SeaClear wants a COM port for input of GPS or AIS.

Luis Sa
Site Admin

Post by Luis Sa » Fri Oct 23, 2020 4:47 am

Hello Mike,

It looks like you need an adapter. Have a look to this post:

https://www.vela-navega.com/forum/viewt ... p=424#p424

If SeaClear is not able to communicate by WiFi you will need a wired connection.

Regards, Luis

dagnall

Post by dagnall » Fri Oct 23, 2020 4:35 pm