Seatec AIS/6 connections

Discussion and support for the Nmea2Wifi multiplexer - a 2-input Nmea 0183 wifi multiplexer.
Post Reply
Leon
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2020 6:25 pm

Seatec AIS/6 connections

Post by Leon » Thu Jun 18, 2020 10:25 am

here is the txt version of para2 of the manual for the Seatec device, (pdf too big)

1.
Connection for power supply
Here you can connect the supplied 2-Pin powercable which includes a build-in 0.5A
fuse.

Pin Color Description
1 Black - 12 / 24 Volt DC
2 White + 12 / 24 Volt DC

2.
Datacable Connector
To insert or retrieve NMEA data, you need to connect the datacable here.

Pin Color Baudrate Description
1 Brown 4.800 NMEA Input +
2 Red 4.800 NMEA Input +
3 Orange 4.800 NMEA Input +
4 Yellow 4.800 NMEA Input +
5 Green -NMEA Input - (Ground)
6 Blue 38.400 NMEA Output +
7 Purple -Option
8 White -NMEA Output - (Ground)




I wish to connect to Nmea2Wifi device. I am remote from my yacht for another 5 weeks yet so making plans to get it sorted asap.
I have ST50 Raymarine instruments in Seatalk1 and I can see those connections are covered already and I believe I can do that. My issue is with the Seatec connection. I want the AIS info to be available on the network I will create for the yacht.Any advice please.

on a second issue I Know the Nmea2wifi is also a transducer or whatever it is called in that it changes Seatalk to Nmea183 out.

How would I make that connection to the Seatec AIS unit using those Nmea signals as they are not present as yet due not having a "transducer" or whatever they called.

thank you in advance of even receiving my box of tricks

Leon
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2020 6:25 pm

Re: Seatec AIS/6 connections

Post by Leon » Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:33 am

bump

Luis Sa
Site Admin
Posts: 535
Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 4:12 am

Re: Seatec AIS/6 connections

Post by Luis Sa » Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:35 am

Hello,

I am sorry for the delay in answering. I will study your case this evening but I am not understanding your setup. AIS will send Nmea0183 at 38400. It should be connected to the port that accepts 38400. It has no relation to Seatalk 1.Then you connect Seatalk to the other port.

Will be able to discuss this further tonight.

Luis

Leon
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2020 6:25 pm

Re: Seatec AIS/6 connections

Post by Leon » Fri Jun 26, 2020 1:16 pm

Everything makes perfect sense now.
the unit arrived today thanks and I couldn't wait to try simulation mode. Like a boy at Christmas works perfectly!!!!!

thank you so much

Post Reply